Improv Theatre for Communication Skills Series

Improv Theatre for Communication Skills Series promotional image

Do you want to feel more comfortable with public speaking, teaching, and presentations? Join other graduate students and postdocs for improvisation drop-in sessions where we will use improv theatre games to help you improve your confidence in public speaking, answering questions, and communicating your research to broad audiences. Sessions will be led by Lisa Kelly, Associate Artistic Director of Theatre Cedar Rapids and the UI CIRTL Coordinator, and Kristy Hartsgrove Mooers, UI Theatre Faculty. We will offer in-person sessions every other Wednesday from Sept. 21 through Dec. 14 from 5-6 p.m. in the IMU (see IMU screens for weekly locations).

  • 9/21 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 337 MGC Room
  • 10/5 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 337 MGC Room
  • 10/19 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 337 MGC Room
  • 11/2 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 335 Divine Nine Room
  • 11/16 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 256 Academics Room
  • 11/30 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 337 MGC Room
  • 12/14 from 5 to 6 p.m.: IMU 337 MGC Room

Any questions about the event can be directed to grad-success@uiowa.edu. We hope you are able to join us and take advantage of these opportunities!

Wednesday, September 21, 5:00pm to Wednesday, December 14, 2022 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 5, 5:00pm to Wednesday, December 28, 2022 6:00pm
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, January 11, 2023 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, January 25, 2023 6:00pm
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, February 8, 2023 7:00pm
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, February 22, 2023 7:00pm
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, March 8, 2023 7:00pm
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 5:00pm to Wednesday, March 8, 2023 7:00pm
Iowa Memorial Union (IMU)
See digital signs or schedule below
125 North Madison Street, Iowa City, IA 52245
View on Event Calendar
Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa–sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Lisa Kelly in advance at 319-335-3145 or lisa-kelly@uiowa.edu.